top of page
Search

Pearls of Faith, Day Three




From a series of devotionals I'm currently working on:

Pearls of Faith

Day Three:


Hebrews 11:7 By faith Noah, being warned of God of things not seen as yet, moved with fear, prepared an ark to the saving of his house; by the which he condemned the world, and became heir of the righteousness which is by faith.


Having faith, sometimes means looking ridiculous to those around us, the ones who don’t understand the instructions God has given us. They don’t hear the voice that speaks into our hearts, the beautiful that inspires us to listen with a pure heart, the miracle of a love that restores our spirits when we’re feeling like the worst of sinners. Having faith, sometimes means that we can’t explain the roads we’re taking, the journeys that, to others, might look misleading, the prayers that assure us – when in doubt, the One who listens will destroy the darkest doubts and help us to find our way through the shadows.


Faith led Noah to build an ark even though everywhere he turned, everyone who knew him doubted his reasoning, even his very sanity. As Noah worked, erecting this thing that no one on earth had ever seen, this thing that no one on earth had ever needed or had a reason for assembling, there were probably some insecurities going on inside this man who God had given the work of saving the human race and all the animals from extinction. Uncertainties assuredly breathed their weary words through Noah’s mind. Hesitancy broke through his faith and tried to steal his peace. Even though Noah trusted the Lord more than anyone else on earth at the time, there were probably moments when Noah felt like he must be crazy because, after all, everywhere he turned there were those who swore that he was crazy.


Crazy and determined like so many others who have gone out on a limb that looked like it was close to the breaking point. Despite all the doubts, the fears that clouded the hopes and the tears that worked their way through the suspicions that were a part of the devil’s plan to destroy God’s design, the crazy and determined often discover that – with faith there is a way where no way can be seen. Through faith, there is a sense of promise, a reason, a feeling that through this wonderful gift from heaven, prayers are being answered with “YES”. Thanks to the faith that sustains and brings hearts through the worst of pains, there is a promise that never fails, a beautiful that never fades, a light that wilts the darkest doubt and makes a way for the weakest soul to find the strength to reach beyond the fears and tears, rising above whatever suspicion might cling to the spirit.


Thanks to Noah, the one who taught us about faith that never gives up, there is a world where each of us are given the chance to reach beyond our doubts into the faith that promises we can make our way out of the worst that comes. We have what it takes – through faith, to silence the skepticism and know that, because of the Creator of our souls, the answer to our yearnings, we can face any fear, any doubt, any worry with the peace that comes from knowing God is always there. He is alive in every prayer. He feeds every heart. He erases every thought of giving up because He is the one and only reason that our hearts are beating. He is the love that lives to save us from the sin that made us afraid, the sin that wanted to take us away from the faith, the faith that sustains and the faith that remains God’s greatest gift to us, the gift of His love.


A Prayer & A Promise:


Dear Lord, You know how insecure I can be. I worry and doubt. I yearn to find a way out of the things that You give me to do because I’m so sure I don’t have what it takes to do those things You say I can. I am often worried that I’m not enough, even when You promised that You would strengthen me with Your spirit. I know that You are with me and You will never leave me. Still, worry presses in around my hopes, my dreams, my prayers – silencing the truth that says, You are the answer to my every doubt, my every fear, every tear. Because of You, the faith that You gave me, I can make it through the darkest nights, the fiercest storms, the deadliest harm. Because I know You, Jesus and have faith in Your strength, I can overcome whatever comes, even when I don’t think I can. You are the miracle that assures me, through faith, I can obtain the victory. Thank You, Lord, for the faith You stirred in me, faith that reminds me without You, I’m nothing at all. Without You, I am lost and alone. Without You, Lord, this world has won. I love You, Jesus and will always praise You for all You’ve done!


Faith is deliberate confidence in the character of God whose ways you may not understand at the time. - Oswald Chambers

7 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Rising

Post: Blog2 Post
bottom of page